Dead Coyote

Posted: July 18, 2011 in poems, random
Tags: , ,

Dead Coyote pup in the road
that had followed his mother many times before.
Why have you fallen prey to the vehicles of man?
An insatiable appetite from easy meals,
tiny purse dogs and lazy fat cats…

Where will your spirit go, trampy pup?
Will it reside with thieves and underdogs,
forced to the tree peppered outskirts of ravaged lands…
Or in the mowed alien fields of suburbia?

Yes, they will help you survive little dog.
The pleasures are many, 
easily taken by all who reside.
Without proper gratitude to upturned trees,
and extinct wild grasses…
never again dancing with the breeze.

One Crepe Myrtle
Two Crepe Myrtles 
3 Crepe Myrtles
Four…  Knockout Rose.

You are a shadow in the night,
whispered into misread warnings of dawn people.
Yelping and screaming,
you dispel such nonsense… 
only to fuel fear in reputation.
You don’t belong here little coyote,
necessities are better off respected.

Please
Please
Please
Follow your mother,
back to the wood.
For I fear to be the only mourner…
as the turkey vultures rejoice in your demise.

Comments
  1. Cheryl says:

    Ew. But well said. You write beautifully.

    P.S. I am secretly scared that a coyote will come in our dog door at night. Freddy assures me they can’t scale fences, therefore we are safe. Let’s hope he’s right.

    • Sara says:

      Thank you for the compliment, Cheryl! I think coyotes should be the last thing you should ever worry about! Unless it’s foaming at the mouth with rabies, of course. We had a large adult walk up the middle of our culdesac last month… It was scared to death (of US)… and probably kin to the poor dead pup.

  2. Misti says:

    Awwww. Poor coyote! *sad story*—one time in college, we were driving back on 45 to Galveston. Chris was in front of me and I saw one the southbound lane side of the road was a coyote. It ran between him and me (I was following), crossed the median only to lose its head to a semi. 😦

    We had coyotes near our tent on the FT a few times.

    Good poem, too.

    • Sara says:

      How awful Misti! I can’t imagine seeing something so viceral. 😦 We almost hit a little pup last year in the same spot… right there on the side street to our house. And before that even, I had spotted large adults (several times) on my way to work. It’s funny how I keep these little moments as treasures… Maybe that’s why I can’t get the poor dear out of my head. And after the little patch of woodland is finally plowed… I will be devestated.

  3. Kate says:

    Aw, poor coyote puppy! I don’t think I’ve ever really read any of your stuff – I love the way you write! There’s great imagery here. I tried to put a coyote in my car once, thinking it was a loose German Shepherd. I’m awesome like that.

Leave a Reply

