Ho-hum

Posted: January 3, 2011 in random
Tags: ,

Monotony – Wearisome uniformity or lack of variety, as in occupation or scenery.

So it’s a new year… not much has changed.  Same car, same house, same job, same groceries and laundry piles every week, same scheming back-stabbers and cranky regulars at work, same Saturday night FB posts that I hate myself for on Sunday mornings.  Does anyone else want to pull their hair out thinking of how tiresome the SAMENESS of life can be? 

Not that stability is a bad thing… more like the drone of Listzomania by Pheonix playing on the radio EVERY FREAKING TIME I TURN IT ON!  In general, not a bad song.  I even sort of liked it the first few times I heard it.  And then it was ground into my brain day after day, at which point I start to shut down… turn off my radio… and turn on the weirdest Talking Heads song I can think of.  Ho-hum.

Even that is repetitive!    IE: Sara gets mad a the world, shuts down, turns on Talking Heads… just as she has done a thousand times before.

In a memento mori kind of way, I wonder if any of this monotony is worth it?  I want to be like Office Space guy:

“I hate my job, and I don’t think I’m going to go anymore.”
<So you’re going to quit?>
“No, I’m just not going to go anymore.”

Of course, I would never just quit my job or stop doing the laundry… although, the man might disagree on the latter statement.  But there are so many times I just want to walk away from the tedious things in life.  I’m not lazy… I just don’t think they are IMPORTANT.  It’s the Talking Heads that keep me going.  The Lathans and Rileys… the mushroom chicken quesadillas, the weird looks I get from my husband and the rest of yas when I stop caring what others think about me and let my crazy flag fly, the walks through the park, the murals on the wall.

But alas, I am not doing any of that right now.  Those things may not even make up the majority of my week.  That’s when the daydreaming and slacking begins… when the longing becomes too much to endure. 

Don’t worry, I’ll be all happy and optimistic again tomorrow… which is also my modus operandi.

Comments
  1. Misti says:

    Sometimes I catch myself wishing for the other side—the monotony, the perfect little house and then I realize that I would be in the same position you are—craving the other side again. Somehow I’ve got to figure out a balance.

    I’ve decided that I need a quirky place to live, something more authentic, something that will allow for laundry piles and messes, but for neatness, too. Something that lets me be adventurous as well.

    I’m scared to death of a 40 hr work week again because I worry I will lose the fun and insane. But then—it’s only a matter of how we handle it and work with what we are given.

    And now I am going to venture on to make no sense so I will stop.

  2. Sara says:

    You need a little lake house, high up on a hill… that would keep you busy maintaining the weeds and trees in your every spare moment. A kayak to float about on… with your trusty cam by your side. Maybe a crap job in the city during the week.

    I hate living from vacation to vacation, adventure to adventure. I’m sure being couped up for the winter has contributed to my doldrums.

    I’m like the Cooper’s hawk I’ve seen every evening for the last week… staring blankly down from atop a telephone pole, biding the time until she gets the next glint in her eye… and sets to flight.

  3. Cayce says:

    I feel ya. I definitely feel ya. 🙂

  4. Misti says:

    Have you seen any Northern Harriers lately?

    • Sara says:

      I don’t know if I’d be any good identifying one without a long hard look and one of my bird books… But I did get my Nana’s old binoculars as a Christmas gift this year!

      …We saw a Kestrel on my aunts lake a few years back.

Leave a Reply

