Little Texas Garden – She Loves Me Like a Rock

Posted: May 15, 2010 in Little Texas Garden, nature, texas

Oh, my mama, she loves me
She get down on her knees and hug me
Like she loves me like a rock
She rock me like the rock of ages
And loves me
She love me, love me, love me, love me
~Paul Simon

Veronica spicata – ‘Glory’ Royal Candles:  Blooms spring to fall and they have not dissappointed me once!  Attracts bees and butterflies and stays radiantly purple with just a touch of dead heading.  One of the only flowers that remained glorious during last summer’s heat wave (or the Summer of Death, as I like to call it)

Dianthus gratianopolitanus – ‘Firewitch Diantthus’  and  Lavandula stoechas – ‘Spanish Lavender’  finally blooming after I rescued them as the last remaining puny outcasts last fall.

Dianthus blooming like crazy.

Gelsemium sempervirens – ‘Carolina Jessamine’:  only one flower this year as it only blooms a few weeks in early spring.

Bruce turns into a Rolly-Polli when I let him out to garden with me… he’s still not used to being outside!

My ‘rock garden’ makes me so happy! 🙂

Stone crop or anything in the Genus: Sedum, I have no idea what their names are (there are over 600 species)… but I LOVE THEM!

Nierembergia hippomanica – White cupflower:  Amazing mounding perennial that thrived in the hottest part of my garden… this baby blooms spring, summer, and into fall.  And it survived our coldest TX winter in history!

My favorite!  Calylophus drummondianus – Sundrops:  native to TX this lovely perennial is a true gem… like good drainage, sloping hills, and our hot Texas climate.  Very drought tolerant.

My rock garden EXPLODED this spring!  Last year I was trying everything to fill it up… now I’m trying to prune it back!

Star Jasmine… smells so sweet!

The bees LOVE my Beauty Bush!

Scutellaria suffrutescens – Pink Texas Skullcap:  Texas native, drought tolerant, tough little booger that you might find growing in the desert.  Love it!

The boys ‘helping’ mommy pick seeds


Ramona Clematis:  We’ll see how this vine does in the hottest part of the garden… I’m a little worried that she wont make it.


Tulbaghia violacea – ‘Silver Lace’ garlic in bloom

Please tackle me if I try to take anymore pictures of my rock garden!!!

Leave a Reply

