Lathan’s Mural

Posted: October 11, 2009 in family and friends, favorites, I Painted a Mural, music, nostalgia, random, rock n roll
In the beginning Lathan had bare tan walls and Lightning McQueen sheets… no comforter… and one poster.  He needed an upgrade and so we asked him what he would like in his room.  First response: Batman.  I said no.  Second response: Guitar Hero.  Now we’re talkin!  Does that make me a bad mom?
Yoga painting move.  I didn’t have a ladder at this point so I had to be creative when applying the ‘lightning.’  At first I tried applying a cool pattern with white paint and crumpled up paper…. which I DO NOT recommend to anyone.
Than I started the grid pattern over the lightning with the plastic grid from an old baby gate Amanda gave me.  I had to nail it to the wall in about 8 places each time I moved to a new section and then I stippled in the darker grey paint.
The grid took most of the time.  Probably a little over 2 weeks.  Towards the end I was whining WAY too much on Facebook with posts like: [This wall is starting to suck the life blood out of me, better put on my Gooines Never Say Die shirt.] and [I have a paint chip lodged in my eye, possibly lead poisoning, tetnis and lung damage from paint fumes…]
“I get by with a little help from my friends”
Finally done with the grid!
The first backwards guitar!
My signature… yes I signed my mural two weeks before it was done.
Mark Knopfler Strat
Got a ladder upgrade from Joshua
Bruce keeping mommy company.  Isn’t he hansome?!  I love the matching guitars on the paper in the background.
I’m surprised Peter did not short circuit looking at this filthy mess… that seemed to grow larger everyday!
I will never again post a picture of myself wearing NO make-up AND making a heinous face.  So soak it up ladys and gentlemen.  Check out my awesome cheer up or die shirt.
Too many pictures of my butt… please forgive me.
Check out my awesome hairdo.
All the records my dad gave me… I still need to get Darkside of the Moon.
My Aunt Pam gave us vintage concert tickets from some legends!  Thank you!!!
He’s so excited.  I wanted to cry just watching him last night.  And this morning when I went upstairs to make his bed he had already tried to do it just like we had.  Love you, my baby Lathan!!!
Comments
  1. Cayce says:

    It IS awesome! Wonderful job! Don't know if I could have kept my sanity that long. And how sweet that Lathan tried to make his bed. He must LOVE this room. 🙂 Congrats!

  2. Misti says:

    Wow, Lathan has an awesome mom!! That is a great mural and what a lot of time invested. It better stay on the wall for a few years at least!

  3. Sara says:

    Thanks, Miles… I was so scared at first that the grid would ruin the lightning that I was so happy with. And I questioned multiple times whether I should paint over it and start again. It was going to make it or break it! Now, that's probably the most dynamic part, and I think I might keep a gate or two… you know, for my bag of tricks. lolI would estimate that I spent about 60 hours on the mural (around 16 hours a week) and it took me 29 days to finish. I worked on it an average of 3 days a week. I'm going to miss painting that much actually. I'm already having withdrawals! Maybe by the Lathan gets tired of his guitars he'll be old enough to help me repaint another mural! :)Thanks everyone! Your comments mean so much to me! ❤

  4. Amber says:

    You did a FABULOUS job Sara!!!! I love it!!!

  5. Cheryl says:

    it looks amazing! lathan is so lucky to have a creative mommy who loves him so much that she is willing to spend hours painting him the coolest room he will ever have! and i must add…it looks even better in person!

  6. Sara says:

    Awe Cheryl that was so sweet! Thanks my SMS girlies.

  7. John M says:

    awesome Sara!PS – you better have Guitar Hero ready to play come the Halloween party 🙂

  8. Sara says:

    John bring your PS3!!! 🙂

  9. Shawna says:

    One day, when he is trying to describe his cool room to his own children, he might forget what it looked like exactly but he will never forget that you did it for him. It looks great!

Leave a Reply

