It Might Get Loud

Posted: July 20, 2009 in music, nostalgia, reviews, rock n roll

Did anyone else lay on the floor as a kid and listen to music blaring out of large ancient thumping speakers? The crackling records surreptitiously swindled out of my dad’s giant record collection. The Doors, Pink Floyd, Jimi Hendrix… and of course Led Zeppelin.

Electric chords attacked and coerced with the voracity that only a true guitar God could muster into existence. Unfathomable crescendos, solos, and the sinuous melodies of the psychedelic rockers of the 60’s… That’s what I was listening to right there on the game room floor, and I loved EVERY SECOND.

“It Might Get Loud” is a documentary on the electric guitar from the point of view of three significant rock musicians: the Edge, Jimmy Page and Jack White, and how it has changed over time. It’s due out on August 14th… and I am so excited! All I keep repeating in my head is a quote from the movie cars, “Punch me, Guido! Punch me in the face!” 🙂

I’m also excited, as bad as this sounds, to see Jack White play the guitar SO hard that his hand actually bleeds.

Leave a Reply

