My Little Texas Garden – part 3

Posted: May 20, 2009 in nature, texas

Echinacea purpurea – ‘Magnus’: 1998 perennial plant of the year… and probably my new favorite in the garden. It attracts so many butterflies and it has become so beautiful! It was a stubbly little thing when I bought it, without any blooms, but look at it now! In no time it has come into it’s own.

Coreopsis auriculata ‘Nana’: They are the bright yellow flowers in the front and one in the back. The flowers spike out on long stems from the base of rounded leaves, sometimes called ‘Mouse Eared Tickseed’ because of the shape of the leaves. This is another of my all time favorites, because they are yellow (my favorite color) and they attract just as many butterflies as the Echinacea.

My ‘Mont Blanc’ Nierembergia scoparia (pronounced: near-im-BERG-ee-ah) seems much happier planted in the ground instead of that small hanging basket it was in before. Also sometimes called ‘Whitecup’ or ‘Cup Flower’.

Tulbaghia violacea variegata – ‘Variegated Society Garlic’ or ‘Silver Lace Garlic’: this plant is SO cool! When it blossoms it will have a lovely branch of purple flowers on each stem. It smells nasty when you mess with it, but it is said to keep almost all insects away from it and any surrounding plants because of the odor. You can mulch the yellowing leaves and sprinkle them around the base of your plants… or if you eat what you grow, (I have not gotten to that point in my gardening yet) the leaves can be used in salads or for cooking, and the ‘garlic bulb’ lies under ground and can be used when your plant has propegated. It’s called ‘Society Garlic’ because back a jillion years ago people thought it smelled less bad than traditional garlic, hence less bad breath, hence the polite ‘society’ garlic was named.

Delphinium grandiflorum – ‘Summer Nights’: I try and make it a point not to buy poisonous plants or I would have two giant pink oleander bushes on either side of my house… but this one snuck in! I had no idea until I googled the scientific name today that it is poisonous. btw, have you ever thought about poisonous plants? I think it’s crazy that some can kill you like a poisonous spider or snake. They used to use poison Hemlock in ancient Greece to execute people… Socrates was believed to have died from Hemlock. Isn’t that crazy?

This is not a new addition, and somehow, I knew what this plant was yesterday and today… I don’t. Maybe I can find it again… but I read that it dies after 15-20 years if it creates a flower stalk. You can cut it off to keep it from producing certian hormones that causes it to die.

Sedum is the little tiny plant down in front, not sure what kind.

Boltinia asteroides – ‘Jim Crockett’ or ‘Bolton’s Aster’

Pretty Pentas

Portulaca/Purslane (pronounced: por-chew-LAC-ah) Not sure which variety… many are common. I know it is not Moss Rose, probably Portulaca grandiflora. It’s very pretty and the blossoms close up at night.

Leave a Reply

