Wire Wrapped Earrings

Posted: January 15, 2009 in going coastal

My new favorite jewelry to make? Wire wrapped earrings! I can’t stop myself. The first pair I created I sold within three days! I was so excited because I basically decided I would teach myself how to make wire wrapped earrings… and I suceeded. I bought the supplies and out came a pair of lovely wrapped hoops.

My background in jewelry has always been macrame, meaning: knotting fiber or twine in intricate geometric patterns. I love macrame so much because it allows me to create something so entirely unique with my bare hands and every time I have tried to branch out into another type of jewelry making I found myself lacking the motivation. It seemed too easy to just use a pair of jewelry pliers and bend a jump ring closed to complete your piece. Don’t get me wrong, I love silver and brass jewelry and I know many talented designers… but it just didn’t seem like it fit for me. That is until I wrapped that first strand of wire around a hand formed hoop that I had created. It’s like macrame with metal. It’s perfect for me! Check out my latest creations below.

Up next for me? Natural oxidation of sterling silver! It’s the antiquing process that gives fine silver that beautiful bohemian quality. We’ll see how that pans out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

