Ode to Post Punk

Posted: October 9, 2008 in favorites, music, nostalgia

First of all, I will start out saying that I was corrupted from a very young age… my father frequently subjected us to his Talking Heads albums and tapes, and after ’Stop Making Sense’ was realeased on VHS, I was a goner. Now tell me, if you had been around in the 80’s as an adult and seen a 9 year old singing ’Psycho Killer’ to herself, would you have been concerned? I feel as if I have wussed out SO much because I don’t know if I will have the same reckless abandon with the boys. I’m going to be the bunk mom that screams about their devil music… you just watch… it’s already begun.

Anyhoo here’s my breakdown.
New Wave – the catchy pop aspect = Post Punk
New Wave + Artistic Ingenuity = Art Rock
Art Rock + Post Punk = Kick ASS… or the Talking Heads

Now my list of favorites and must hear music:
1. Talking Heads: Life During WartimeRoad to NoWhere – I have a very severe obsession with this song (possibly due to the 1989 movie Little Monsters w/ Fred Savage,)
Stop Making Sense – movie directed by Jonathan Demme,
Take me to the River… Al Green song that was dubbed for the cheesy rubber singing fish that you have probably seen at WalMart, Swamp, Girlfriend is Better
2. Gang of Four:Franz Ferdinand and Bloc Party were influenced by this band, and Flea said that Gang of Four was the single most important influence for the Red Hot Chili Peppers. Solid Gold is a good album – check out What We All Want Naturals Not in It Damaged Goods
3. The Cure is one of my all time favorite bands…they are pretty mainstream so I’ll spare you as much as possible. I have to say that I love the B side Halo. And the single Killing an Arab. (The Stranger, anyone?) My favorite album for personal reasons that DO NOT INVOLVE THE SONG ‘FRIDAY I’M IN LOVE’ is Wish.
4. Siouxsie and the Banshees: I don’t really understand why they are considered post punk, considering when these guys started they should be considered punk, right? Just my opinion. Check out ’Hong Kong Garden’ – very catchy. Cities in the Dust – song about the lost city of Pompeii.
Everybody and their dog says they were influenced by these guys including U2, Radiohead, Robert Smith, and Scissor Sisters.

Honorable mentions: Echo and the Bunnymen, Joy Division/New Order, Richard Hell and the Voidoids, Depeche Mode (a palatable favorite to many), and a new band that sounds post punk~ the Magic Bullets… and I could list more but I won’t.

Leave a Reply

